Who’s your Favorite Illustrator?

Last night, I sent out the above Tweet, asking for Illustrator recommendations. The response has been incredible. In fact, I found so many talents on that thread that I figured I should share it here, on my blog. Thanks to everyone that responded. I can’t help but feel that the internet is quite a magical place.

Feel free to add your favorite illustrator as a comment below.

122 Comments leave a comment below

  1. I want to add…Emma Trithart http://www.emmatrithart.com/

  2. My friend and business partner, Jon Ashcroft, is an amazing talent. http://jonashcroft.com/

  3. Tina,

    I’ve gotta say that a few of my favorite new illustrators are

    Kelsey Garrity-Riley http://www.kgriley.com
    Annelise Capossela http://www.annelisecapossela.com
    and Lizzie Stewart http://www.abouttoday.co.uk

  4. If I had to pick only one… http://albertocerriteno.com/ for the win!

  5. I have a weak spot for the work of Raoul Deleo (http://www.deleo.nl/deleo/) and Siegfried Woldhek (http://shop.woldhek.nl/welkom)

  6. definitely Totsuka Ryoko.
    unfortunately her website is still in Japanese…
    http://totsutotsuto.com/gallery.html
    just click through the images.
    she’ll open an etsy store soon, really looking forward to that!

  7. I’m in love with Thoka Maer and her project it’s no biggie -> http://itsnobiggie.tumblr.com/

  8. We really love all these here – http://JuicyCanvas.com/Gallery
    You can filter themas needed -:)

    artur / ceo
    JuicyCanvas.com
    | Custumizable Art

  9. Maria Tina Beddia – she’s great!
    http://www.mariatinabeddia.com/

  10. My friend Eliza is an amaaaazing illustrator; she just published her first children’s book, which she both wrote and illustrated, and it made the New York Times best seller list!

    http://wheelerstudio.com/

  11. My afvorite portuguese illustrators:

    All illustrators on the team of Planeta Tangerina
    http://www.planetatangerina.com/en/studio/team

    Débora Figueiredo
    http://cargocollective.com/deborafigueiredo

    Hugo Henriques
    http://cargocollective.com/hugo-henriques

    Maria João Arnaud
    http://www.mjoaoarnaud.com/

  12. And last but not least:

    Joana Rosa Bragança
    http://www.joanarosab.com/

  13. Jen Barger… she does a little of everything and anything. Her stuff is always a bit creepy if she can manage it, but also always super cool. http://www.jenbarger.com/

  14. tanya ling, jean philippe delhomme, marc johns, and mats gustaffson are some of my faves.

  15. Josh Cochran has some amazing work:
    http://www.joshcochran.net/

  16. Grafilu!

  17. Check out the amazing Rama Hughes at RamaHughes.com

  18. Chris Ware is an obvious favorite, but I’m always incredibly impressed with the work of Anthony Hare: http://www.siteway.com

  19. dyna moe!! she does the man men work and made the hipster animals!

  20. Has anyone mentioned Scott Campbell? His work would be great for Tattly!
    http://www.pyramidcar.com/

  21. If you haven’t already seen Sarah Williamson’s unique work:
    http://www.sarahwilliamson.net/

  22. Huge fan of Julia Kuo http://juliakuo.com/
    Checkout her 100 Days in Cleveland illustrated series: http://juliaincleveland.tumblr.com/

  23. Marie Emmermann!

    skizzomat.de

  24. I hate to narrow it down to one, but if I have to chose, my pick is Marc Aspinall (aka The Tree House Press), a very talented fellow from the UK. http://www.tthp.org/

  25. Jess Golden is whimsical and fantastic! http://jessgolden.com/

    If you are looking for something darker, you can look to artists who work in another medium. The guy who did the Tuukka Rask helmet for the Winter Classic, Luke Dobie, incorporates a lot of illustrations into hs work too. http://lukedobiedesigns.com/work.htm

  26. Billy Burkert in NYC has some awesome work! http://withoutbones.com/

  27. edward gorey and mattias adolfsson (http://mattiasa.blogspot.com)

  28. Adrianna Bamber! abamber.com

  29. My girl Walker Ballantyne Hill from Toronto Canada – http://www.walkerballantyne.com/

  30. Matt Phelan, who has illustrated a number of children’s books.

    http://www.mattphelan.com/

  31. My husband is an illustrator-animator & made an app: http://www.lilredapp.com

  32. Katie Turner. Such a kind, gentle universe. Makes me want to live in it.
    http://www.katieturner.net

  33. Forgot the http > > > for easy viewing…
    Adrianna Bamber
    http://www.abamber.com/

  34. Hello from Italy!
    Jacopo Rosati
    http://www.jacoporosati.com/

  35. JuliaRothman.com
    Gabyandco.com

    Thank u!

  36. Pietari Posti has been one of my top faves for a long time, and I think you would dig his style Tina!

    http://www.pposti.com

  37. Suzanne and Edgar from An Open Sketchbook rock!!!

  38. I think Steve Simpson is incredibly talented. I am constantly surprised and entertained by his whimsical, thoughtful illustrations and design work. He is clever and funny and a refreshing change from the ordinary. I think you should check out his work: http://www.behance.net/stevesimpson

  39. It’s impossible to choose only one illustrator, but here is my top 5 this month:
    Delphine Durand: http://delphinedurand.blogspot.com
    Alex Dukal: http://www.circografico.com.ar
    Henning Wagenbreth: http://www.wagenbreth.de
    Isabelle Arsenault: http://www.isabellearsenault.com
    Joe Todd Stanton: http://joetoddstanton.com

  40. Shaun Tan!

  41. lately it’s victo ngai :)
    http://www.victo-ngai.com/

  42. Definitely this fellow:
    http://mrschuster.com/

  43. Katja Enseling, a fabulous mix of illustration and craft: http://katjaenseling.com

  44. I’m certainly totally biased, but Justyna is great:
    http://www.justynachudzinska.com/

  45. Farid Rivas Michel: http://supay.de/
    He did a great job designing these fridge magnets for kids: http://getpicpack.com/packs/50954236a55043000200001a

  46. Lydia Garner for English quirkiness: http://www.lydiagarner.co.uk/index.php. Check out her ‘Tomorrow’ zine on Behance: http://www.behance.net/gallery/Tomorrow-Zine/3424681

  47. Hey, you should check the amazing work of the talented Serena Olivieri. Actually I saw time ago a nice stop motion video on your blog.

    http://Www.serenaolivieri.com

  48. Caroline Hadilaksono is very very talented. http://www.hadilaksono.com/
    Philippa Rice, too. http://philippajrice.com/

  49. Awesome lady that’s not been in the industry too long but definitley one to watch!

    Lorna Scobie http://lornascobie.com/

  50. Too many to name name them all but here are two good ones:

    I heart Wendy Macnaughton’s illustrations
    http://wendymacnaughton.com/

    and Heather Tompkins is good too.
    http://www.heathertompkins.com/

  51. Good word AND good people:
    Jason Polan http://www.jasonpolan.com
    Matthew Cordell http://matthewcordell.com/

  52. Good work, I mean. Sorry.

  53. So many, but here are a few of my favourites!

    Alan Clarke:
    http://www.mralanclarke.com/

    Graham Annable:
    http://www.grickle.com

    Also:
    Shaun Tan, Oliver Jeffers, Christoph Niemann, Tom Gauld and Killian Dunne.

  54. Also, Nolan Pelletier. My mother-in-law was his grade school art teacher. His work is superb!

    http://nolannolannolan.com/

  55. oops meant to add:

    http://www.ginaandmatt.com

    Martha is great, but didn’t mean to write it twice!!

  56. I highly recommend the work of Paul Tinker: http://www.paul-tinker.com

    Top bloke and incredible skills

  57. Check out Anna Raff http://www.annaraff.com/
    She just did an awesome book with Candlewick Press.

  58. simplykumquat.com
    Charming pictures of everyday scenes.

  59. Somehow my Twitter response didn’t make the cut.

    Everyone should know about Phil Noto (@philnoto) : http://www.notoart.com/Titlepage.html

  60. 100% MY FAVORITE IS ANDREA WAN
    http://www.andreawan.com/
    From Vancouver Canada (via Hong Kong) currently living in Berlin

  61. I want to add Amanda Nunes! Super cute.

    http://www.heartless-ink.com

  62. Chris Edser! He has a great sense of humour that is communicated brilliantly through his illustrations.

    http://www.chrisedser.com

  63. Rebecca Haysom from Johanneburg, South Africa.
    Incredible painter too.
    http://rebeccahaysom.co.za/

  64. Mine is Prashant Miranda – super talented! http://prashart.blogspot.in

  65. Eva Galesloot a.k.a skwirrol

  66. Sorry! again and now with a link.
    skwirrol – http://cargocollective.com/skwirrol

  67. Just one more: Pepon Meneses http://peponmeneses.com/

  68. Miranda Dressler!

    http://mirandadressler.tumblr.com/

    I think you’ll love her Jurassic Park series.

  69. I’ve quite enjoyed Victo Ngai’s work lately: http://victo-ngai.com/

  70. My son:

    nathanmanire.com

Leave a Comment